Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While education is considered a paramount factor for the advancement of society, people have controversial approaches about educators' role in this modern era. Some considered that teachers do not cherish the respect which they deserve, others contemplate that they are as reputable as they were in the past because of the power and authority they hold. IF I were asked, I would definitely agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. My firm belief on this is for a couple of reasons which I will explore in subsequent paragraphs.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my point of view is associated with the realization that along with the advent of technology, students have access to different ways of learning through the internet. Now they improve their intellectual capabilities by learning from a myriad of sources conversely it was not possible in the past when only teachers were the sole resource for their learning. Moreover, parents are more educated and knowledgeable, their involvement roles in school deprive the teachers of their prestigious rights to teach with their own will. My experience in this matter is influenced by my own compelling example. My nephew is in second grade and his visual memory is really strong. Last semester, his maths teacher complained about his weaknesses in maths; so instead of paying attention to the teacher's complaint, his parents suggested the teacher for using visual aids with him. No doubt, their advice was useful but the role of his teacher was suppressed by their action.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that educators have changed their teaching styles. In the past teachers are extremely strict and pupils were more disciplined and forced to listen to them. Now teachers changed their teaching style and are more friendly which is an obstacle in their motive to gain respect and value. Students took that freedom and independence in the wrong way. Drawing from my nephew's example, last week, he used profanity in school, and his teacher intentionally ignored him just in order to show her liberalism and adaptability to the modern style of teaching. As a result, he continued that behavior until his parents stopped him. I know that if I had done that in my high school, I would have kicked out of the classroom as a punishment.

In conclusion, educators do not get respect and value compared to the past not only because the teacher's role is superseded by multiple other resources, but also the tutoring style is molded to modern ways of teaching.