Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are truly the backbone of society. They serve as a role model for children, offer guidance, dedication, and give young people the power of knowledge. Some people do not stand with the fact that teachers are not appreciated and valued enough by society nowadays but others think the opposite. As far as my opinion is concerned, I definitely agree that mentors are not getting sufficient importance in society. Today, teachers' reputation and need are getting affected badly because of several reasons. I will explore two of them in subsequent paragraphs.

First, as a matter of fact, as compare to the past, teachers have no power over students nowadays because they are not allowed to punish them if they misbehave or do not complete their homework. The maximum they can do is either send them to the principal's office or inform their parents. The main reason behind this rationale is parents. They do not want teachers to scold their kids. One of my friends who is a science teacher is a profound example of this. One day a kid in her class literally spit on her because she told him to behave and sit properly. As a result, she scolded him and got him out of her class. When his parents got to know the scenario, they did not accept their child's fault. They accused the teacher of scolding their kid which was really disappointing for my friend. As a result, she left the job because she was so disheartened about having no authority even if she is right. This is something not used to happen in the past when teachers had great respect.

The second reason behind my opinion is distant learning. The major drawback of virtual school is that students do not listen to their professors as they are not sitting in front of them like in a class environment. Moreover, with the help of modern technology, many educational videos have encouraged the students to not reach up to teachers. They anticipate they can take in everything on their own. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My son is taking classes online currently due to the pandemic. His teacher shouts all the time because kids do not listen to her. Someone is lying on the couch, other is not paying attention. Furthermore, my son thinks that he does not even need a teacher because he can learn by himself by watching videos on Youtube. This is huge a problem to consider because nothing can replace the expertise of teachers. In the past, students would go to school to learn from the knowledge of masters.

To sum up, educators are losing their worth in society presently because not only they do not have the power to control students but also distant learning has reduced their standards. We as a society must evaluate this depressing issue to reappraise teachers.