Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, teachers have played a crucial role in nurturing people’s mind. They have taught them various valuable lessons to enable them to live a better life. In this regard, some people possess the conviction that people valued teacher more in the past. I personally subscribe to the idea that nowadays, people don’t revere teachers like past. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, due to the huge advancements of the technology, people have more access to online course, which means that they are not in desperate need of teachers to learn new thing. In other words, online course provides them with the golden opportunities to learn new skills that are necessary to land a money-making job. Therefore, in view of the fact that they are capable of enabling themselves with required skills, they don’t respect teachers like before. It is no denying the fact that the less people need others, the less they look up to them. My own experience is a case in point. When I was a student, the technology was not available compared with today. Thus, students were dependent on their teachers to be able to learn new skills. As times elapsed, after graduation, I chose teaching as my professional career. What I have seen is that today, students don’t care about their teacher and don’t come to class because they enroll in online courses to learn new and practical skills. This experience makes it evident to me that now that they don’t need their teacher like past, they don’t care about them.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that today, thanks to the governments’ support, more teachers are available than before. It goes without saying that in the past there were a small number of teachers in every city, and not all students were able to enroll in schools. Hence, due to the smaller number of teachers and educational facilities, people were in a constant competition to have a chance to be capable of being taught by teachers. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, the factors that affected people’s opinion on teachers’ status in the society were analyzed. The results revealed that one of the most important factors was the number of teachers in the society. To put it simply, there was a negative and strong correlation between the number of teacher and the amount of the people who pay attention to them. According to this study, since there are more teachers in the society now than before, people don’t feel that they are valuable, nor do they respect them enough.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that teachers are not appreciated like past. Not only do students have access to a large number of online courses, but also there are more teacher available in the society than before, both of which lead to less respect for them. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are other examples and reasons which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that people try to revere teachers because they paly a pivotal role in cultivating students’ abilities and talents.