Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with the development of technology, students today can learn not only from their teachers, but also can learn from playing games. Thus, there are some people may claim that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. However, I do not agree with this statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, it is true that students now do not need to rely on teachers to acquire new knowledge, instead, they can learn in many different ways. They can either learn knowledge in traditional ways, such as attending class, or learn from playing educational games. For example, Duolingo, a popular language app in the world. The appearance of this app has completely changed people's ideas of learning language. Before, if we want to learn English, we would have to go to cram schools or hiring a tutor to teach us, yet Duolingo allows us to learn new languages from playing games, which significantly lowered the costs of leaning languages.

However, the appearance of educational game does not necessarily mean that the values of teachers have been undermined. Since the competitions between students are more competitive today, more and more parents are willing to invest more to hire teachers to teach their children. For instance, although Duolingo provides an economic way for students to learn English, if they have any question when they are learning, they cannot get the answers of feedback immediately. Therefore, teachers still have their own advantages, because they can provide immediate feedbacks and interact with students. In that way, students do not need to sleep with their concerns that their questions are still unsolved.

Moreover, those educational games and apps still require professional teachers to design them, since software engineers may not have sufficient knowledge to create games that can educate students effectively. Hence, the success of Dulingo, is still based on the efforts of many professional teachers. Without teachers, I believe Duolingo cannot be as successful as we see today.

In conclusion, despite it may seem that students today can learn knowledge without teacher, without teachers' contribution, students may not be able to enjoy the convenience of learning that they have today. Therefore, I believe teachers are not less appreciated and valued by society today than before.