Do you agree or disagree with the following statement These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports However they should be given more time to do whatever they want

Recently, many people have raised a topic about whether children nowadays have enough free time. Someone says that children spend most of their time on doing homework or participating in organized activities while others think children have too much free time. In my opinion, I disagree that children should be given more free time to do whatever they want.

To begin with, giving children too much free time harms their health, particularly their eyesight, and this is because they lack self-control. If children retain a great deal of personal autonomy over whatever they like to do, they are very likely to focus on their smart phones for games. For example my younger brother, who is grade 7, doesn’t have too much homework. Every time he finishes his homework, he will play video games on his phone with his friends, which makes his near-sighted problems increase by 50° in one summer holiday.

In addition, giving children too much free time also makes them fatter. Most people nowadays are lazy; instead, they like to stay at home on holidays with no exercise at all. For example, my younger brother put on his weight during his transition from the elementary school to secondary school. He didn’t do any sport during that summer holiday. He was 50 kg before, but he turned to 60 kg after the break. When he went back to school, half of his classmates got fat. Therefore, I think giving children too much free time are bad for them.

Last but not least, children with much free time might disturb others in many ways. For instance, I still remember the noise on the day when my brother brought his friends to my home. And they invited me to play mobile games with them. When I got a nice gun, they decided to blow me up with a grenade, which made me mad. Given this unpleasant experience, I think they need more homework to make sure they don’t make other feel bad.

In conclusion I think children should not have too much free time because it does not benefit them or other people.