Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The provision of financial support plays a crucial role in the development of universities and colleges. Students not only get an education but also can learn the important skills of lives through different activities from these institutes. Should organizations realize the importance of such activities in our education system, the authorities will wonder over it scrupulously. In this regard, it is said that sports and social activities are not as important as the other classes and libraries. There are various schools of thought among people on this issue which some of us would see eye to eye with it, while others would take issue with it. In my opinion, sports and social activities are equally important as libraries and other educational classes, so they must be equally funded. In the ensuing lines, I will elaborate my opinion on the most outstanding and cogent ground.

First and foremost, working as a team will engender a myriad of advantages. The majority of the individuals would agree with the notion that when students are collaborating, they come across many experiences that boost their confidence and result in the development of social skills. Students learn to be more courageous and know how to co-operate with one another. The main reason behind this rationale is that involvement in sports and social activities will teach the students about the affective consequences of teamwork. My own story is a compelling example of this. During the first year of my pharmacy college, my pharmacology professor assigned group projects to the students. All of the members had their suggestions for completing the tasks because everyone wanted higher scores. We had an initial delay, but then we collaborated by considering everyone's opinions. As a result, we were able to submit a final project, and not only our project scored the highest in class, but also everyone learned how to resolve conflicts to get success. If I had not had that group activity, I would have never realized the virtue of teamwork. All in all, we can not and should not overlook the fact that social activities are an integral part of educational institutes as they instill teamwork in students. Therefore, universities should give them equal importance.

On top of this, sports activities motivate the students to stay active both physically and mentally which is helpful for their studies. As we know, a sound body has a sound mind, when a student is physically active, he concentrates more on his studies because his mind is active and his brain works faster. In the eyes of many students in present-day society, sports activities are a source of encouragement for their better academic performances. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. As you see, when I joined my college, I was not an active student and mostly sat idle in the classroom, sometimes sleeping and other times even if I tried to concentrate, I could not keep myself focused. Then, one of my roommates introduced me to my college soccer team. I registered myself without thinking, but it changed my life upside down as I started to feel a burst of energy in myself, and I hadn't felt only physically active but also my focus on studies had improved. Long story short, it is clear as day to me that sports activities are as important as other classes because they improve students' overall performance in their lives.

In light of the mentioned reasons, I am convinced that universities and colleges should provide the same amount of financial budgets. It is because sports and social activities can kill two birds with one stone as it will not only develop the significance of teamwork between students but will also improve their physical and mental health.