Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that at universities and colleges, extra-curricular activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal Financial support. However, in my opinion, at universities and colleges, cardinal importance should be given to the classes and libraries and should be provided more financial support than sports and social activities for the following three reasons.

First of all, the primary purpose of the establishment of a university or college is to provide academic education. In order to fulfill its primary objective, it must produce adroit writers, researchers, teachers, and scientists. Which cannot be fulfilled if there are not the best classes and libraries available in the universities. As the prompt suggests, when the spots and social activities are provided equal financial support, it is possible that the financial support for the classes and libraries will be inadequate. Eventually, it weakens the primary objectives of the Universities and Colleges.

Second of all, in modern society, the students can have sports and social activities in their locality, however, they cannot get university classes and an academic library. So university sports and activities might not be important for them. In such a case, the investment in sports and social activities is simply a waste.

Third of all, all the students in a university or college may not be interested in sports and social activities, nevertheless, they might be interested only in academic research and classes. So, providing equal financial support to sports, social, and activities and libraries, classes don't hold water.

In conclusion, I don't agree with the prompt which suggests that at universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries, and should receive equal financial support.