Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on the impact social activities and sports play in our lives. In my opinion, I feel that both social activities and sports should receive equal funding as classes and libraries. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First and Foremost, sports provide an avenue for us to exercise our body and maintain a good shape. Joining a sport group is very pivotal for our health. More importantly, it helps to reduce our body weight and improves blood circulation in our body, which lower our chances of being ill. Drawing from my own personal experience. When I was in the secondary school, I had a friend named John who was overweight and because of his size, he was slow and sluggish in carrying out tasks. Additionally, because of the excess fat in his body, he finds it very difficult to breathe sometimes. My classmates usually call him "Mr Big", because of his body size. He tried to lessen his weight by avoiding fast foods and processed foods, but it actually didn't work. One day, I advised him to join our relay team, that practicing with us will help stay in good shape. We usually have two hours practice session everyday, which involves 1 hour running session and 1 hour gymming session. Within six-weeks that John joined our sport team, he lost about 36 pounds. He felt very happy and strong about it. Based on this experience, I strongly feel that joining a sport group is very crucial to maintain a good body shape and a healthy life.

Secondly, participating in one or two social activities can be very profitable on the long run. Moreover, it can be your source of livelihood. For example, when I was in the secondary school I was part of the drama group. I joined the group because of the fun, little did I know that I'm actually building the foundation of my career. In the university, I studied Electrical Engineering. After graduation, I was unable to get a job. I learnt some computing and management skills to improve my chances of securing a job, but still couldn't get one. One day, I saw an advert online, a drama company looking for an actor. I applied and prayed to God that I will be shortlisted for an interview. Three-weeks later, I was called for an interview and was part of those that came out successful. That was how I started my career as an actor in Nigeria. After 6 years of working with the drama country, the CEO was highly elated with my performances. Consequently, he referred me to his friend, Mark, who is working with the Hollywood in New York. Later, I was sent to New York to work with Mark in Hollywood. It was in this job, that I earned my first foreign currency, dollar, and I felt very happy about. If hadn't joined the drama group in my secondary, I might still be unemployed by now.

In conclusion, I feel that both sports and social activities should be given an equivalent amount of money as classes and libraries in the universities and colleges. This is because the former helps us to maintain a healthy life and a nice shape, and also can be our source of income.