Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Young people today are less dependent on their parents than young people in the past

With the rapid development of economy and sociality, it seems that young people are more reliant on their parents than before apparently. As far as I’m concerned, I totally agree with this viewpoint, there is no doubt that parents play an irreplaceable role in our growth path, but comparing with our parent generations, we become more dependent indeed. There are three key factors may give some explanation about this phenomenon.

The first and significant reason is that most of us are a single child in our family, hence at the moment we were born, we acquire more attention and care from my parents. While, as for our parents, they may have several brothers and sister, thus, they can’t get the full and one hundred percent attention from parents. Besides, the grandparents’ spoilage helping us get into the habit of relying on others to some degree. Therefore, as a single child in the family, we may become more dependent on parents unconsciously.

Besides, in our generation, the material conditions acquire greatly abundant, therefore we have the natural condition to ask more in the growth path, as a result when we compelling need to own something, we always turn to our parents, and parents can meet our requirements in most instances. The better material condition contributes to our dependence definitely.

The last but not the least, nowadays the urbanization change our lifestyle and interpersonal relationship in some way, look back the time of our parents growing up, they may have more intimate friends. The economic take-off witnessed the expansion of urbanization, but what followed is the alienate of interpersonal relationship, we live in the apartment and be deprived of the chance to get along with our peers. The urbanization makes us lake of friends than before, consequently, we have to depend more on our parents.

Above all, the superior living condition, the more attention, and intervention from parents, and the absence of friends, all of them cause us are more dependent on our parents than before.