Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today are less dependent on their parents than young people in the past.

It is undoubtedly that any time's young people need to depend on their parents for decision in some degree. Some people claim that young people today are less independent than before. However, I could hardly agree more with the statement that current young people depend less on their parents compared to former when they make decisions. The fundamental and deeper discussion will be illustrated as follows.

The development of technology contributes greatly to independence of young people. With the aid of electronic devices, young people are enabled to own more ways to master information. They can search for required content at a click of mouse with the widespread of computer and network coverage. For instance, if they are uncertain about which major to choose when they enter the university, instead of asking their parents, they can search required subjects of certain majors and future career development of majors online to know about majors comprehensively, which can help them make their own decisions independently. By contrast, young men in the past were not able to access to this kind of information so easily and they often had a hard time collecting resources, which could cause them to depend more on their parents' experience and knowledge to decide their future development direction. According, there is every reason to believe that current young people are more independent in decision making compared with previously.

Advanced education can also play an important role in decision making. Nowadays, there are more professional teachers, which means that they have more diverse and systematic teaching methods. It can be beneficial for young people to help them master their professional knowledge. In this way, they are able to make full use of their professional knowledge in reality. It is helpful for their job, which also contributes to their independence since they can solve problems encountered in work on their own. In addition, currently, there are better school facilities including libraries, laboratories and so on. Students today can obtain more study resources, so they have a better learning ability in general than before. In the past, the education resources were quite limited, which resulted in the difficulties in improvement of personal ability. That is the reason why young people were more dependent on their parents in the old days.

To sum up, from what we have discussed, we may safely conclude that young people today depend less on their parents than before. This is because the technology development helps them to gather information readily and advanced education is beneficial to their learning ability.