Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that nowadays, the courses which students take at the university have a significant role in their future and no one could deny this fact. However, there has always been a controversy among people whether taking specific courses should be mandatory or not. A vast majority of people are of the opinion that students should not be required to take classes like history. I, contrary to the popular belief, contend that students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples.

One of the reasons coming to mind at first is that history is one of the most fundamental subjects that every person should have moderate knowledge. Furthermore, knowing about such matters makes that person more knowledgeable and makes him seem more professional in whatever job he has. In my opinion, people who only pay attention to their field of expertise and do not care about other matters are making a big mistake. Subjects such as history, are a must-know for all of the people. Consider an Iranian doctor who has no idea who Cyrus the Great was or what the Torkamanchai Treaty was about. If a discussion comes up between him and his patients about one of these matters and he confesses he has no idea about it, the patients will think less highly of him. They might think if he does not know about such a simple subject, god knows what he does not know about in his profession.

Another equally noteworthy reason supporting my opinion is that history has so many valuable lessons that can be used by people in contemporary times. It is a proven fact that life is just like a cycle which repeats itself. Although the shape and form of the problems and situations have changed in modern times, the nature of the issues is the same. Paying attention to historical events helps people broaden their perspective and helps them better handle the predicaments they face. If you take a look at the problems of before and today, you will soon discover that many of them were and are about matters such as power and money in large and small scales. The measures that people take today can be based on the same strategies that people in the past have used, even in different forms and shapes.

The last but not the least reason is that empirical studies have shown that successful people have a vast knowledge of history. A study was conducted at Oxford University in 2011, which I had actually read about in Forbes yesterday. A series of historical questions were asked from a hundred successful politicians and entrepreneurs. The results showed that about 92 percents of them answered about 80 percent of the historical questions right. Furthermore, most of them stated that they had passed a history course during the college years. So, it is wise to consider this factor as an influential parameter in their success. I presume most of the students want to be powerful and likely world leaders in the future, so it is better for them to pass this course.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that studying history at the university is necessary for all students. However, that was a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are more reasons and examples elaborating on this idea which are not mentioned above due to the shortage of time. Finally, it is suggested that students take history classes at the university, no matter how irrelevant it might seem to their field of study.