Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that parents have profound impact on their children's lives. Many believe that young people used to depend much more on their parents, while other argue that the influence of parents on children is still efficiently high. I firmly assert that today young people are more independent. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into my most prominent reasons for this viewpoint.

First and foremost, today younger people depart from their families soon and start their own single life. In fact, it is very common between youngsters to leave home after they become eighteen. At this age, people choose to separate their life to become more independent. In contrast, in the past people used to live with their family in a house, with grandparents and the whole relatives. They also followed the family's job. For example, the child of butcher became the apprentice of his own father. Later when father became older or decrepit, the child replaced him. In my opinion this tradition of continuing father's job made children more dependent on their parents and gave them the right to make decisions for their children. Hence, living and working with parents at the same time were the main reasons why young people used to be less independent in the past.

Moreover, now parents use a completely different strategy to raise their children. In fact, by the advent of modern psychology many parents are eager to examine new methods to grow their children meritly. It goes without saying that the latest methods of parenting induce them to grow their children in less disciplinary way like old times. To illustrate, my cousin is only 10 years old but he is independent enough and can distinguish many situations because he is raised so. Therefore, the methods of growing children are changed today which are reasons the young people look at their parents less to make decisions.

All in all, based on the above-mentioned points and details it is crystal-clear that two factors which are leaving home soon and parenting methods are the most significant reasons why young people are more eager to make their own decisions today.