Do you agree or disagree with the following statement.In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Transportation has been one of the most important necessities of human. They have tried to utilize animals and machines to meet this demand during the past millennia. Some people hold the view that car, as an important contemporary vehicle of transportation system, will utterly substitute with other vehicles. Others believe that the existence of car will proceed, but the number of them will become fewer. From my perspective the reign of cars will be weakened, albeit they will not become completely extinct. To support this statement two reasons are presented as follows:

First, our necessities will alter. Therefore, our solutions will also modify, accordingly. The invention of new alluring vehicles with a higher performance is not beyond the realm of possibility. More environmental friendly vehicles are now in the limelight. For instance, some disseminated news show that the trend is to substitute the contemporary cars with the ones they will not consume fossil energy supplies. There is also no constraint to preserve the physical shape of the cars. In twenty years ahead, there will be different vehicles than today's ones. It will be ridiculous for the posterity using a car with more than one thousand of weight to transport a typical individual whose weight is just 80 kilograms. The disparity between today's and future's cars will be underlined the difference between today’s and future's needs.

Second, other transportation vehicles have been also spotlighted during last years ago. For example, train has been an unrelenting rival for car. Train, alike other existent vehicles, has pros and cons. But advantages of this railroad vehicle have made it more and more popular in many societies. Planes and ships are other inexorable opponents for cars. All I know is that there will be a variety of vehicles in the twenty years ahead. The posterity will have more fascinating options to choose than we have today. I prophesy that although cars will not become extinct, the number of them will be less than there are today.

To sum up, according to our future needs and incredible growth of technology, future vehicles will be quite different and more alluring than what we have today. What are called “cars” today will be modified to a large extent that we may be entitled not to call them “cars”; it will even be a misnomer. All in all, the number of cars, in today’s sense, will be on the decrease.