do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Everything is connected. As the story of a butterfly and a storm indicates, events happening elsewhere, though far away from where you are, is possible to affect your daily life. This renders it essential to keep an eye on what is going on around the world.

As I argued above, I will include incidents happening in other places into the consideration of my future plan, and I assume most people do as well. Being a prospective PhD student, I am concerned of the security and stability overseas. So I paid close attention to recent terrorist attacks and ethnic conflicts in the United States and other countries. If the situation had become out of control, I would give up my plan to apply for universities in certain areas or countries. Other people may also take into account events happening around the world when making investment, career or travel plans. Therefore, it is indeed important to know what is going on although it seems not to influence your daily life now.

Besides, being acknowledged of the events happening in other places help to widen our horizon and deepen our understanding of the world. We only stay in a very limited area through our life, not being able to experience the richness of the whole world on our own. If we keep track of what is going on, we will be able to learn about different culture, different political institutions, different structure of society, and most importantly, different way of living. For example, when I am working hard to attend exams, some young people of my age quit university and start their own business; when the majority of graduates are fighting for a well-paid job, a small group of them choose to go to the west China to teach primary students. It is knowing what is happening elsewhere that we could see the broadness of the world and life. This frees us from our daily routine, boring and limited.

To put it in a nutshell, knowing about the events happening elsewhere help us to make future plans and increase our understanding of the world and life itself. We have every reason to do so.