Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The world we live in changes every second, which necessitates us to know about major incidences happening around to keep step with its advancement. These events, seemingly irrelevant to our daily life, virtually cast important influence on us in ways that we do not realize or cannot imagine. In the following paragraphs my opinion will be elaborated in detail.

To commence with, one of the most visible merits of learning about what is taking place on our Earth is the increase of our knowledge. A general idea is that news like the tax reform under president Trump’s administration and the concept of Bit coin are of little relevance to me, a student majoring in linguistics in China. However, think from another angle, knowing about these political and economic events enables me to accumulate knowledge of tax policy and virtual currency. Pursuing knowledge of primary aspects in life itself is vital for me, a world citizen, to understand our society more comprehensively. Without this knowledge I could definitely continue my life, though, in a less intelligent and insightful way.

Another direct advantage brought about via knowing the currently happening events is that it helps people to make wiser decisions about their life. Decisions made after sound analyses based on correct and comprehensive information are basically more prudent. Being cognizant of the political, economic and technological trends worldwide enhances our chance of avoiding risks and achieving success. For instance, travellers might think twice before deciding to go to west Europe for the recently prevalent terrorist attacks. On the other hand, undergraduates are likely to choose majors compatible with the age of artificial intelligence. Were they not alert to these potential danger and opportunity, it may cost them personal prospect or even life.

Apart from the evident positive effects, there lies yet another more underlying and far-reaching bonus if we keep an eye on our ever-changing world. Doing so, we gradually grow to consciously cultivate our habits of ingesting and digesting information, which leads to a more sophisticated mind capable of processing relevant and primary pieces in an overwhelming sea of data. Since it is not possible for us to be aware of everything, we need to learn what and how to select. Besides, as mentioned above, making good use of the news that we master to plan for our life prudently is also essential. Equipped with these abilities, our brains will adapt and survive the world more readily.

In conclusion, I would safely reiterate my endorsement of the opinion that it is important to know events that appear unrelated to our daily life because it increases our knowledge, helps us to make decisions, and shapes our mind in both direct and indirect manners.