Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the issue whether the young people should care about the events happening around the world, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that we don’t need to know about it because they won’t have impact on our daily life. I partly agree their notions. However, from my point of view, I attach great importance to our young people to care about the events happening around the world.

First, knowing about them can definitely improve our sense to the world and broaden our horizons. When we get exposed to the event happening around the world, one point we should make clear is that only the most important and valuable event can we encounter in our daily news. So they are extremely profound for us to know about it. The more you get involved in these events, the more you will become knowledgeable. Consider my own experience can shed some light on this issue. One day I saw a news that a super computer had been made that it can handle one trillion data and calculate them in just one second. After the shock of the first feeling, he got so curious about how it worked and whether it was possible for me to make. Although the answers turned out to be false, I got a number of knowledge about computer which benefit me in my future career.

Second, caring about the worldwide events is caring about yourself. As an saying goes: Everything who can exist is reasonable. Not only they are important but also it is likely to have some consequence on yourself. According to a survey, there are over 70 per cent of people claims that they come through the similar or even same issue broadcasted by media. From this perspective, it is vital for all of us to know about what is happening all over the world today. For example, if you saw a news that the economic depression is so likely to come just by this week. It is such a wise decision for you to sell out all your stocks on hand to minimize the money loose.

It is undeniable that someone insists that caring about the events happening in the world is a tired thing and it will take up you precious time to know it. But I think they will appreciate it after they get some benefit from this habit.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for the unnecessary for caring about events happening worldwide, namely wasting time, broadening horizons, coupled with caring about yourself and avoiding further negative sequence on you makes a strong case for the importance for young people to know the events happening in the world.