Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for the students to learn concepts and ideas than it is for them to learn facts.

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument, through which numerous controversies have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the idea that students should be focused on learning the facts rather than concepts; however, others consider this argument in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all distinct opinions, I strongly agree with the idea that it is better for the students to learn the concepts. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

First, by learning the concepts and ideas, students would learn how to think; that is, when someone knows the basic principles of a particular academic subject, he or she can expand upon the topic by himself or herself and gain profound knowledge by thinking over the concept. For instance, if one learns fundamental principles of agriculture he or she will learn more in this specific field by experiencing. Despite facts are specific details that no one can ever build much knowledge by them because individuals never think in depth about them.

In addition to learning how to think, students could use these concepts to have a better understanding of the facts. I mean facts are the events that thought to be true and often require specific conditions; in contrast, concepts are more general and can be used in any situations. For example, I had a course about mental disorder in my college days back in New York, in that class my teacher was defining the function of human brain and hormones, etc. in emerging these disorders. I strongly doubt if she had talked about the symptoms of the disorders I would have understood the psyche.

Beyond learning how to think and having a better comprehension, concepts never change. As I mentioned above, facts are specific events that can be changed. For instance, water boils at hundred degrees of Celsius, that is a fact, but boiling point can be changed in terms of other factors such as pressure. However, the concept of why water boils when it gets near the heat would never be changed.

Furthermore, by knowing a lot of facts no one can build a good career because at workplace you need to use not only your knowledge but also your creativity; therefore, if you just knew some facts you probably would not be able to come up with various solutions. For example, in my first job, my boss asked me to implement the 5S method on his plant, but I just know the name of each S, so I couldn’t accomplish the order. However, I studied so hard later and would be able to do the task, it was embarrassing at first.

In brief, I fundamentally agree with the idea that students should be more concentrated on concepts and ideas rather than facts because this way they learn how to think, enhance their comprehension, and be sure that concepts would never change.