Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, having internet access is essential for some people to the point that some individuals believe that the government should guarantee internet access for everyone, even if this was at the expense of other services that the government offer such as public transportation. However, I disagree with this opinion. In my view, I think that public transportation is still far more important than internet access and officials should provide the sufficient resources, including funding, to improve it. I feel this way for many potential reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a functioning public transportation system is crucial for the day-to-day lives of citizens as it solves many problems which the community could face without it. Disabled and low-income people depend on public transit like buses and trains to go to work. Economically disadvantaged families cannot afford to purchase a private vehicle. As a result, they usually take the bus to work or school. In addition, young people, who most of the time work minimum wage jobs, make very little money which is not enough to buy a car. Moreover, individuals with special needs find public commuting the most convenient way for them to move. For example, people with low vision who are not able to drive will benefit from public transport. Furthermore, making sure that public transportation system is in good shape will definitely encourage people to drive less. Consequently, less automobiles will be on the road, which will help mitigate traffic jams and air and noise pollution. Based on the aforementioned facts, internet access is not as significant as a reliable public transport for people and elected officials should dedicate more of the taxpayers' money to maintain an efficient transportation network.

Secondly, the internet is not as essential as commuting in everyday lives of humans. Although smart phones and internet access gradually becomes more of a necessity, some people prefer to turn off their phones for some time or not to have a smartphone at all. For instance, the 24 hours access to the internet through mobile phones is not affordable for most people in my home country. Therefore, a large proportion of the population have phones but no internet access. They do not really complain about the lack of internet connection. Instead, the political debates are mostly about infrastructure and public transportation. Hence, public transportation should be the priority for governments before considering internet access for everyone.

In summation, a reliable transit network is much more needed than internet access to all and taxes should be invested in improving bus and train routes as this will help tackle many issues faced by our modern society. Also, some minorities will find it easy to cope without internet access but it will be hard for them to go on with their daily activities without public transportation