Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different notions about the question that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concept than it is for them to learn facts. Some people think that learning the facts is more significant than learning theory. Some others would not agree with this statement. In my opinion, as a student I support the idea that it is really necessary for students to understand the perception clearly. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, for students the purpose of going to the university is to gain knowledge. It is no doubt that knowledge contains in both facts and books. But, in the university students spend most of their time to absorb the knowledge in the textbooks. That is why they need to read many books and pay attention to the lectures of the professors. Because if they do not understand the ideas and the formulas deeply and obviously, they cannot express or represent their abilities when they have to do research or experiment. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in tenth grade. I was not good at biology. I struggled so much when I had to do experiments. For this reason I asked one of my friends who was excellent at this subject. He explained for me how to do experiment step by step carefully. I followed his instruction meticulously. Eventually, I could complete my experiment about biology subject by myself and I recognized that I was able to do it because I knew the concept of each of step. This point illustrates that knowing the concepts and ideas is really important.

Secondly, understanding the concept and ideas deeply and clearly helps students to apply what they have learned in their classes to reality. We all acknowledge that before we do something we usually make plan and organize what we will do. That means we need to know the concept before we act. For example before you repair a computer, you need to have the knowledge about the computer. Or another case is that if you want to go to a bank, you have to know which way to reach there. If you do not know which street will lead you there, how can you arrive there? Therefore, students have to know theories about the major that they choose to learn. Because it will help them to apply what they have learned to their job in the future.

In conclusion, gaining the theories is the purpose of students when they go to the university. For two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly support the ideas that learning concepts and ideas is very needed for students.