Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. This is because, the old friends have already shared our emotions and they would have become just as part of our family. The new new friends, take time to develop that strong relation with us to the level that would make us conceive a conviction "a part of our family".

Keeping old friends is important in some ways. We all know that in today's world, how much ever contacts you have that much strong references you can make. Keeping old friends helps in this perspective. The old friends whenever or whenever you meet, they will help you. One of my friend went to a trip to Europe and was misguided to choose the hotels for his accommodation. But he fortunately, met one of his high school best friend and was able to get good guidance for accommodation and made his trip memorable.

Not only references, or helping hands, old friends share the emotions of ours and it is that solidarity that has made us to become friends. Sometimes, some things which we cannot share with anyone, friends will be there to understand our emotions. But, with new friends, it will take many days to understand each other and strengthen the bond.

Nevertheless making new friends, will also sometimes become important like when you are migrating from one place to another in search of job, say, making new friends will help you to guide in the proper way.

Thus, I believe keeping old friends is more important than making new friends.