Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it is not a secret to anyone that life is tough and as result, there would be times when u are down and need someone to share your feeling with. that's when friends come to the picture. they play a big role in our life and therefore it is not surprising that there are so many controversies around them. one these controversy is about whether we should spend our leisure time with our old friends or meeting new people in order to expand our circle of friends. i personally prefer the former option and in this short essay, I'm going to explain my reasons.

to begin with, meeting new people in order to find a new friend is waste of time when u already have great friends whom you can spend your time with. why should u go through a lot of boring conversation with random strangers instead of doing your favorite hobby with your old friends who you are comfortable with and know u better than anyone else?

furthermore, friendship is like a flower which needs care and constant attention. the more u put effort into your relationship with your friends the stronger your bonds become also like the flower if u don't give enough support to cultivate it, in time it became weaker and weaker till completely die. I remember back when I was in my twentieth I had great friends whom I lost in past years just because I was busy with my life and I greatly regrate it.

in conclusion, good friends are hard to find and harder to keep that is why we should value every moment we have with them instead of trying to find what we already have.