Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This topic is indeed a debatable one. Undeniably, learning facts are important as they might help the students to score

better grade by learning them. Nevertheless, it does not help a student in any other way apart from helping them in their grades as it has very little to do in making students analyse/think. Hence, I would agree with the statement made that it's important for students to understand ideas and concepts than learning facts.

Firstly, understanding ideas and concepts helps in improving one's analytical skills. Students may not find it important now, but in future these skills are going play major role in their career growth. To illustrate, let's consider an example of a student who tops the class say may be in science just by learning facts listed out by teachers in his notes. If that student goes out of participate in a science quiz, he may not even qualify for the second round, that's mainly because he knows what has happened but does not know why it happened at first place? What led to it? etc.

Secondly, it helps one to compete with outside world once he graduates from school or maybe after his college graduation when he is all set to compete with other people with similar qualification for employment. For instance, when many students with similar qualification compete for the same job, how are the employers going to choose the right candidate?. In such cases, a student has to stand out from the crowd which by only means is possible if he is conceptually strong. His grades wouldn't be a matter for employers if he has his basics right. That student would definitely have an upper hand over his counterparts who have good grades but conceptually weak.

Thirdly, the career option which the student will be choosing also plays a vital role. For example, If a student desires to be

a lecturer, then it is quite imbecile to think that he would be a good lecturer because he was just relying on learning facts

in his early years. Being a lecturer requires one to think out of the box and analyse things, else one would fail in explaining

the topic to the students and also wouldn't be able to clear doubts.

In conclusion, eventhough learning facts are necessary to some extent, understanding concepts and ideas has definitely an

upper hand over them. If a student can do both, then it's definitely going to benefit him in long run.