Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university

courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic

and to achieve a common goal.

The claim made is indeed a debatable one. Indisputably, students will find group assignments to be beneficial as it is easier for them to discuss with their peers than with lecturers. Nevertheless, the traditional lecture-based instruction is proven to have an upper hand over group assignments for various reasons. Consequently, I would like to argue against the claim made with some pieces of evidence.

Firstly, traditional lecture-based instruction which is quite popular all over the world is preferred, because for anything sort of discussions to happen on a particular topic, proper domain knowledge on that subject of matter is important. To illustrate, lets consider a case where students are ready to do their group assignments with zero knowledge about the topic on which assignment has to be made. As a result of this, each student would gather information they can fetch from internet and discuss about them. This would result in anything but increase in knowledge as one cannot expect internet to have correct information and as well as sometimes too much of information can be overwhelming resulting in lack of clarity.

Secondly, lecturers are definitely more knowledgeable than students as they have spent considerable number of years teaching the same topic. Some lecturers nowadays even work outside the college hours on the field which they expertise. This practical knowledge can be shared to students which will be beneficial for them once they enter the industrial world. With to respect scoring good grades in examination, lecturers have better knowledge about the question paper patterns and response type expected by the evaluators.

Additionally, when students get a chance to group study only minimal percentage of the lot would actually end up studying. This is due to distraction caused. To illustrate, consider an example of a student who is does his assignments regularly, if his friend by chance comes to meet him for group studies, would they actually study? With internet taking over the world today, there are enormous amount of topics which might cause distraction and consequently they might end up discussing about a celebrity, a game, politics and what not.

In conclusion, although group assignments are found to be beneficial to improve students grade as well as practical knowledge. By considering the facts discussed, one can surely say that it isn't possible without proper domain knowlegde and help from professors. Therefore, it be a great idea if its possible to collaborate both and benefit from it.