Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products look better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many aspects of a successful business and advertising is one of them since it helps companies to increase their sales. Personally, I think that commercials are misleading oftentimes. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, products often promoted by celebrities whom people tend to believe. When we see that our favorite artists praise new products, we want to try them because we sympathize these individuals and using the same commodities brings us closer to them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have immensely dry skin and always look for new creams that can help me to decrease my irritation. When a while ago, I saw a video on Youtube channel advertising a new lotion I decided to give it a shot and bought a tube. I did not do any extra research or read reviews about the cream prior to the purchase since it was promoted by my favorite actress whom I admired. I was truly disappointed to find out that this cream was not an outstanding one as she stated. Moreover, it had the same content than the majority of available lotions. This example illustrates how advertisements with celebrities can trick the general public.

Secondly, manufacturers hide disadvantages of their goods while advertising them. The main goal of a business is to make a profit and companies do everything they can to increase their sales. In this way, in commercials, they stress benefits of their products but conceal their flaws. For example, a few weeks ago I came down with a cold and had to visit a doctor. On my way to a clinic, I saw a huge banner advertising a new medication to relieve symptoms of the illness such as a runny nose, cough, and fever. The text about advantages of this medicine was in bold and vivid. However, the disadvantages were written in a fine print and on the very bottom of the banner, and so I could barely see them. If had not read about possible side effects of the drug and had taken it, I could have suffered. That is why I think that commercials are deceptive oftentimes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advertisements make goods look more beneficial than they really are. This is because famous people take part in them, and because of companies prone to hide flaws of their commodities.