Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents should allow children to make their own choices

rather than determine their children’s future for them

There is no doubt that parent’s way of upbringing play a prominent role in children’s lives. No one can deny its influences on their behaviors and nurture. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether parents should let children to decide and make choices by own or parents should make a plan for their life and future. Although some people may hold the viewpoint that children should decide independently, the others take the opposite viewpoint that children cannot make choices by own and parents should determine their plans. From my perspective the first belief is true. In what follows I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons of mine.

One of the most important reason coming to mind related to the statement is that confidence. If parents do not let the children to make decisions by themselves they have not enough confidence to live alone. Thus, This behavior blinds children’s abilities to communicate with others and participate or even speak in communities. Furthermore this behavior will get worse when they grow up and they should decide carefully about their lives. For example one of my friends that accepted in famous university far from their home always had problem to make decisions about simple stuff like what he should eat, what he should wear etc. Hence he couldn’t communicate with others and made friends.

The other equally important reason is breeding dependent children. That is a big dilemma for children to have strong dependence to their parents. Children with this dependency can not cope with huge responsibilities and cannot be a proper leader, manager or take some important jobs that need crucial and temporary decisions.

The last but not least reason is children learn that they should be careful about their decisions because they are responsible to what happened after. They should understand that although parents are there and they can count on their help but they cannot blame parents for

From what has been discussing above we may safely reach the conclusion that making decisions by parents for children can endanger their positions in society and deteriorate their future lives. Moreover, they should less interfere in their children’s decisions due to make the responsible, more confident and dependent. But children can consult with elder especially parents.