Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Doing Effective Things

Some people think that individuals lose their time doing things that makes them enjoy. Others believe that people nowadays are doing thing they out to do. This issue is a controversial one but in my own point of view, a closer examination reveals that people waste their time doing things that they are joyful for them rather than doing important things. I feel this because of two main reasons, which I will explored in the following essay.

First, individuals are less responsible than they were in the past. People, nowadays, are doing things considered not vital, such as playing football or video games. In addition, everyone in the world have critical things to do; for example, children are responsible to do homework, and adults are responsible for doing their work every day. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I can recall a memory that when I was young, I was a hard-working student so do my family. Indeed, my father was an engineer, a phenomenal one, who can handle a work of two men, but now he lost his responsibility of working as great as he was. Today, I cannot study as efficient as I used to do during childhood because I do not have the sensibility to handle being the first in my class. Hence, this reflects on my collage studying by not earning credits, and weakening my degrees.

Not only people lose their responsibility toward doing things that they should do, but they also are busy with the new technology of nowadays. Phones, laptops, TVs, and so on are the reason for the distraction that people receive while working, which makes focusing on their work impossible. By way of example, one of my best friends, Omar, was having an enormous amount of dedication, which I have not noticed on anyone. Until one day, he obtained a Nokia phone that has great features. Thus, he was ignoring and delaying all his work, which affects his career badly. Consequently, his manager hates what is going on with Omar, so he give him an opportunity to change his new habit. In reality, he warned him to finish his work as he used to do in the past. Nevertheless, he did not apply what his manager told him to do, and he continued to waste his time playing with his phone. Therefore, he was fired from his job instantaneously without even thinking. For this reason, I believe that people, these days, are not doing things that they are responsible to do; instead, they are wasting their time on achieving useless things that make them feel joyful.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above. I am of the opinion that in most cases people nowadays prefer doing things that they like to doing things that is significant. This is because people are not as responsible as they were in the past, and individuals are distracted with the new technology appears currently.