Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Sports teach people lessons about life.

With increasing academic pressure that takes up the time more and more, the free time becomes so valuable and get people’s awareness. Young people begin to calculate the benefit of various activities, and show this close attentiveness to avoid being left behind. Here are three alternatives: to accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community, learning to play a sport , learning to play a musical instrument. From my own perspective, I prefer sport to music and volunteering because of two reasons below.

It is too obvious to say that sports increase physical healthy and alertness., while it also makes sense to say the sports increase mental alertness. Since sports plays happen fast, and athletes develop the skill needed to make effective snap decisions. Whether it’s a basketball player deciding to shoot or a soccer player realizing his best move is to pass to a teammate for the assist, athletes learn critical decision-making skills that will benefit them both during and after game time. Besides, Physical activity naturally increases blood flow to the brain and activates endorphins which makes you happy as much as playing music.

In addition, sports allow a young to build positive social relationships when group sports activities are incorporated into his or her life. Team sports provide athletes with a natural community which is comparable to volunteering or doing part-time job, and even beyond these for it is a more supportive and easy environment. The players are encouraged to express their concerns, hopes, and disappointments to their coaches and their teammates and seek feedback in return, which bolster their communication skills; but also help them become more adaptable, patient, and responsible when they are pursuing the same goal. I remembered the football clubs in middle school. As a girl who was too shy to talk, I was pretty amazed at first to find I did quite well in playing football, for all I did was to run quick enough and shoot. Playing football captivated me deeply, but discovered in order to perform better, I had to cooperate with others, which included to have a word with others. Thanks for the encouragement from coach and the friendly attitudes of most of my mates, once I overcame and start to establish the first talk, the diverse pairing of personalities and scenarios taught me the meaning of communication. I even encountered my best friend in the team. She definitely was my alter ego, being so stubborn and cocky to chat with the rest. And it turned out that both of us learnt and foster our communication skills and attain the positive social relationships also beyond our team.

Last but not least, sports are so much more than playing simply for fun and exercise, or developing useful skills. instead it is about the sporting spirit which is unreplaceable among the other two choices. Many of the sports practiced nowadays are competitive. You play to win, and the game has little meaning unless you do your utmost to win it. As soon as the question of prestige arises, the most tough instincts are aroused to make consistent and difficult decisions under high pressure. This ability that function under tension translates to person who may be more willing to persist and capable of tackling the next big problem in the future. I believed that’s why so many famous entrepreneurs are inclined to spend the little free time after busy engaging to do sports. Just as the athlete is working out themselves on the green field to triumph, the head of the company is striving to prevail in that business field , and so is the student making the deadlines and chasing academic accomplishment. By the way, G.P.A outcome of the players in our football team far exceed the average when graduated.

In a net shell, I strongly suggest you take sports as free-time activities for you can acquire mentally pleasant and consciousness as music do, realize a positive relationship as volunteering do and earn the spirit particularly belongs to sports.