Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Students are more interested in politics now than they were in the past.

Nowadays, people are being increasingly vocal about their political views, opinions and beliefs. Personally, I believe that students have found politics more engaging than ever before. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the media has helped propagandized political issues to the public, and by extension, students. This development has resulted in students being better informed about prominent issues, and politicians' differing points of view on those topics. With the information they have obtained from the media, students will feel more well-prepared to involve themselves in politics, therefore arousing their interest. My own experience as a high-school student is a compelling example of this. before closely following the media, I was clueless about notable political issues and politicians' stance. therefore, I found politics bland, dull, and distant. However, once the media started to have more extensive coverage of political issues, I felt more involved, and less ignorant. soon afterwards, I was closely following the elections in both Vietnam, the U.S. and elsewhere. I acquainted myself with the political shifts and trends happening around the world, and the ever-changing world of politics was no longer foreign to me.

Secondly, more and more politicians are now reaching out to the young generation. This change has caused an increasing number of youths to feel included in politics. Young people now have a seat at the table, and a voice in the conversation. For example, take the case of the recent mid-term election campaign in the United States. An unprecedented number of campaigns, projects and advertisements motivated the 18-40 age group to go out and vote on election Day. One prominent campaign was comedian Billy Eichner’s "Glam Up The Midterms". Throughout this campaign, he has cleverly used content aimed at the Millennial generation, utilizing accessible platforms such as Instagram Stories and YouTube videos, in order to encourage youngsters to register and vote. Such campaigns have helped to increase the ratio of young voters, from 14% in the 2014 midterm election, to around 30% in the 2018 election.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students' interest in politics is on the rise. This is because the media is bringing political issues closer to more youngsters, and politicians are targeting the student age bracket more.