Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Teachers are the beacon of knowledge in life and the friends are the secrect keepers. Both of them play significant roles in the life of a person. The statement here posits that the teachers have more influence on the students than friends. I disagree with this statement and I am going to explain my reasonings in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, outside of home, the students spend lion's share of their time with their friends. They play together, share leisure activities and what not. Even sometimes, they stay overnight at their friends' house. This prolonged exposure to the friends has significant influnece over them. It is common to see that a group of friends share the common traits. A person is deeply influence by the persons he is exposed to. So, say for example, if someone does not have a particular trait, or habit of doing something that his friends do, he will began to try and learn or acquire that habit to gain more acceptance among his friends. This can be good sometimes but also has the potential to be a disastrous situation. For instance, one of my cousin is a compelling example of this. He was very obidient to his parents and teachers. But, in high school he got tangled with a group of friends who took drugs. Although, my cousin never did drugs before, he started taking drugs to get along with his friends. It was a horrible experience for him and his family. This is how strong the influnece of friends is on the students.

Moreover, the students and their firends are of the same age or near about the same age. They feel more comfortable to interact with them rather than the teachers. In addition, most of the cases teachers are viewed as a person of respect, so students usually don't go to them unless it is absolutely necessary and most of the time just to solve their problem with study. in contrast, the students share their personal life and their secrets with their firends which they can't tell anyone else. Sometimes, the friends know more about a person than his family members. Thus the bonding between the friends are strong and can influence a person more strongly. For instance, one of my friend was having trouble in his personal life and he could not tell those to anyone. But than he shared the problem with us and he was going to take detrimental steps in his life. But, me and my friends intervened and persuaded him to change his mind. Even his parents did not know about this incident. It is another example, why the friends have more influnece.

In conclusion, it is true that teachers can guide us with their wisdom and influnecne our personality but the influence of the friends are greater. With the arguments presented before, I stand by my position that students are more influenced by their friends than their teachers.