It could be argued that the most important technological breakthroughs have happened by chance and through surprise discoveries. However, others argue that deliberate, well-planned research with specific goals is the only way to ensure technological advancement.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Most of the people today stay connected with the internet by the grace of wireless connection and although most of the people dont even know that the technolgy they are using was a result of an accidental research. But , if asked most of the people will agree this accidents are very fortoitous. More by chance than anything else. The instrinsic inquisitive nature of the people is to seek the unknown and thrive for a better and comfortable living. Through the course of time human race was engaged in the hunt to solve and simply everyday task and problems. thus we have seen the industrial revolution, the current modern age and what not. If we look at the discoveries of the scientific areas in the past century we can identify many important discoveries that shaped the current course of our generation. We have eliminated many deadly diseases, conquered the sea and air and even reached the moon. Most of this success has come through focused research work. Yeah, its true in the due cours many unwanted but extraordinary findings was achieved but do we look at the finding of the focused study because that was what supposed to happen? This might be the reason why those by chance discoveries are so highlighted.

as we were talking about the wifi, the technology behind it was first invented during world war II. This was supposed to block the enemy from interfering with radio signal guided torpedo. And although that was not possible implement but, that idea of wireless connection lated resulted in the wifi system. But lets shift our focus to the electric car and the vattery technology that was associated with it. Tthis was initiated fromour concern for the environment. lots of years of studty for this purpose was done. And now we are seeing the new horizon of oit transportation technology.

If one look at the the field of microchip insudtry, we can say the more efficient and highly powerful chips that we used today that actually cam efrom the desire to shift from the PC size of a whoe room to a more compact size. However, one can characterize that this happened from several iterations of a experiment. But wasn't that the focus of that experiment that how can we incorporate this tech in our life by making it more compact? this can actually point to the fact that without specific goals we might not have reached this point.

on the other hand, we can list a number of everyday tech that we use which were actually invented by accident. From light bulb to laser to radiation each was a result of a happy accident. Scientist also discovered many phenomena in the natured and klater curated them to use in the invention of technology. This might give the impression of might awe struck many people that this important techs were resulted from surprise discoveries. But one should not forget that in the in multidiscilplinary fields many a thing is interconnected. so a discovery might seem not re;ated with the field but that was result from a research with agoal.

Thus, by chance or not, or whether resulting from a specific goal oriented research, these technologies are actually playing their important roles in our daily life. As we cant rely on happy accients to happen everytime in a reserch, we should be focused in our specific goals while researching. But we should also keep a openm mind. As the scientific fields are becoming more collaborative, many brunches of scienec are working together, many relevant discoveries are quite plausible. As the same, one cant be just hoping for happy chances. thus it can be said the a well planed reasearch with a specific goal should the to ensure technological advancement. if anything marvelous new tech comes along the ways as surprise discovery, that is a bonus.