Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument among individuals or even intellectuals, through which numerous conflicts has engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that nowadays because of technology children have became less creative than they were in the past while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the idea that children today are growing into less creative persons because of technology development. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

To begin with, today, children dedicate their time to play a video game rather than to read a book, so they have less time for thinking or creating something. As a matter of fact, children in the past hadn't have much access to video games. Therefore, they had less options to fulfill their leisure time, and they usually chose to read a book or create a new game on their own. Although children today seem to be smart but their imagination has not been developed just as well as the children of earlier eras. From my personal experience, I can remember once me and my younger brother were being bored, so we decide to invent a new game. Consequently, we came up with the idea of a new game, called, bamboozeld. It was so fun.

In addition to less time for thinking and imagining, children can use the internet for solving their problems or writing their essays. For example, in the past when there was no internet kids would work so hard on their home works. However, today children have access to anything needed. They often use the internet for not only writing their essays but also for solving every problem they have to cope with in real life. For example, my niece always copies others' essays for her school. Despite her I was enjoying writing my own essays.

Apart from the points I made above I have another reason that I would like to discuss about. Children in the past tended to spend much more time with their friends but today they almost prefer their video games to everything. My point is that when children work or play together as a team the creativeness of them as individuals is going to increase as a result of cooperating with other children. In fact, they learn a lot from their peers; however, now that they don't spend as much time as they did in the past not only do their creativity decrease but also their social skills reduce.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above I strongly agree with the idea that children today have become less creative as a result of advances in technology.