Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Undoubtedly, in our modern society, group projects play a critical role as far as students' success is concerned. With this in mind, a heated controversy exists as to the best way of doing teamwork projects for students. Although most people believe that the advantages of using e-mail in communicating about projects for them far outweigh those of personal meetings, I believe otherwise. The reasons why I think so are manifold which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, the most rational justification for my opinion is that the positive effects of personal meetings in students' performance in group projects are such great that no one can downplay it. To put it differently, when communicating in person, rather than by such state-of-the-art technologies as e-mail, about their projects, students can provide themselves a great many of opportunities, two of which are presented in this article, which can dramatically affect the performance of their assignment. Take their stress level as the most patently obvious example; numerous studies have revealed that personal meetings can dramatically decrease students' stress level about their educational group assignments. Thus, due to the fact that stress is a contributing factor in many illnesses, by doing so, students can give themselves the excellent chance of not only improving both their physical and mental health but also enhancing their mental abilities and concentration, which can lay the groundwork for their great performance in fulfilling that group project. Moreover, from the psychological standpoint, according to one study that I recently read, participating in some regular personal meetings can improve students' motivation for doing their activities, and this can be beneficial for both students and their performance whether it contributes to stopping members from getting a free ride in team or decreasing the workload they have to carry on their shoulders. Consequently, in so doing, not only can students reduce their stress level and improve their performance, but they will be able to enjoy a satisfiable teamwork environment and enhance their group performance as well. As a consequence, who can ignore these advantages provided and do not prefer personal meetings?

Additionally, another rationale to endorse my point of view is that the negative effects of using e-mail for communicating about group projects in students' performance cannot be ignored as well. Take students' time efficiency which plays a critical role in their success as the first example; it goes without saying that although most people believe that technology is the open sesame for all human problems, sometimes it is the notorious root of all evil. When trying to talk about their projects with their teammates, students have to waste a huge amount of their time whether they have to wait for their teammates' answer or preparing, writing, and sending their own messages. Hence, this social communication can be assumed as a sheer waste of time and may negatively affect team efficiency. In addition, it is also crystal clear that through social communication students will not be provided the great opportunity of asking their questions from their teammates as clearly as possible, persuading each other about the best method of fulfilling project, and above all, clearing up all the misconceptions; thus, by using this method, students will not be able to make the best use of the blessing of teamwork, and they will take it for granted. Therefore, as far as my personal perspective is concerned, these negative effects of communicating by e-mail are strong enough to tip the scales in favor of communicating in person.

To sum it up, with all this taken into account, I do believe that the pros of personal communication in fulfilling group projects, without doubt, far outweigh those of social ones. A great many reasons support my idea, of which two of the most important are the conspicuous benefits of personal meeting in students' performance and the negative effects of social communication on group efficiency.