Do you agree or disagree with the following?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words do not use memorized examples

It is difficult to state one or the other that whether it is important to keep old friends then making new ones. Old friends are known to be your childhood friends and are often categorized as a family member. Because they know everything about you and you might have gone through thick and thins with them. On the other hand, making new friends is also inevitable because this will improve your social circle.

Maintaining your old friendship is good for various reasons. Firstly, they are aware of your personality, they understand you and often helps you making better decisions. For example, i have a sensitive nature and i often land up in situations where things go beyond my control and my emotions start flowing, that is i start to cry. My friend is capable of figuring it before it hits me and defends me or rescues me from the uncomfortable spot. That happened a lot in my teen life, like in schools, class or even in family. They are always there to support you.

Also, when she was getting married, she chose me to be her bridesmaid. And since i was aware of her personality, i gave her the best bridal shower that was going to the farmhouse, making her the queen for the day. Not only this but i was the one who helped her Fiance in planning a good proposal to her for wedding. So, we have this trust relationship with each other and we enjoy each other's company so much that i would never want to lose her. She is like a family to me and so am i to her.

On the other hand, making new friends is essential too. For example, i applied to the Georgia State university for the accounting program and my best friend has nothing to do with accounting, she is more of a fashion designer type person. So, i need to make new friends to assist me in my assignments or group work or basically i need someone whom i share similar interest. Not only this but when i worked in a call center, i had to make new friends so that when i was sick and couldn't come to work, they can take my place for that day and then i do the same for them.

Making new friends is crucial in our growing society and increasing competition around us. Being seen connected well with your colleagues can add to your advantage for getting promotion because they see you as a social person.

Therefore, siding with one is not practical because old friends are like your family and there is a phrase that says 'old is gold' which fits perfectly with old friends. As well as making new friends is important too because you cannot just occupy your old friends as they may live far from you or are not always available or like i explained that they may not have the one quality that you may only find by making a new friend.