Do you agree or disagree? It is better to relax by watching a movie or reading a book than doing physical exercise. Explain your answer with examples and specific reasons.

In today's fast-paced world, vicissitudes of life exert pressure on people in an unprecedented manner. People strive for finding a way out. In order to achieve equanimity, people read books, watch movies or do physical exercise. In my humble opinion, watching films or reading books lead to more relaxation than doing physical exercise. There are two main reasons that buttress my point of view. Firstly, books and films make us forget about the anxiety that we have to contend with day-to-day problems. Secondly, physical exercise leads to drainage of energy and does not help with mental satisfaction.

Books and films as any other art form offer a way out. They make people feel, experience and forget about the hardships of life. Even if the joy is ephemeral, it makes people feel relaxed. Most people cannot carry on without having a book by their bedside or a theater around the corner. They just do not realize it because they are so intermingled with our life that we cannot distinguish them from it. To illustrate, there existed a period in my life where I was under extreme pressure. One day I watched a movie which gave me hope. My main motivation for not giving up stemmed from that movie. Eventually, I was able to come out of the ordeal and move on.

Working out is an agitating activity. It leads to drainage of energy. By working out, a person is continuously becoming more exhausted. However, I do not deny that working out leads to a healthier life, nor am I denying the fact that people will probably feel more relaxed after doing physical exercise, but we have to note that the calmness generated by doing physical training is a result and not an immediate effect of working out. In other words, during a gym session, one does not feel more relaxed, chances are that he is more nervous rather than relaxed. It is only a few hours after a gym session that a person feels healthier and relieved. I do not think that there is anyone in the world who regards the act of working out as a calming activity.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that movies and books make us feel more appeased. These are art forms that show us an escape from the banality in life. While physical exercise make us feel healthier and excited, it does not make us feel calm.