Do you agree or disagree: It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends?

It is indisputable that friends play an important role in our daily life. Today, a heated debate has been brought up about whether if it is possible to always be honest to our own friends. The answer differs considerably from individual to individual. As far as I am concerned, I side with that it is possible we exert our best to be honest between a relationship. My arguments for these points are listed as follows.

To start with, only by trust and good credit can one secure a longer friendship. People build connection and relationship through trust and credit. From my personal experience, telling lies never end up good. As an old Chinese adage goes, "paper cannot hold fire". In other words, if one still holds a behavior to lie whenever one encounters a problem, the truth will eventually appear one day. To illustrate, once I accidentally broke my friend's bike, but I chose to tell the whole progress and promised that I will make it up for him. At first, I was afraid that our friendship would be over. Yet, he was really happy that I was able to tell the truth even in this condition. Consequently, both of us remain honest to each other throughout the years, and today he is still one of my best friends.

In addition, being honest even when you make mistakes is the key to reclaim a broken heart. Everyone makes mistakes, but the action and attitude after the flaws is the most crucial thing. Some people are afraid to get into deeper troubles so they might decide to make up a bigger lie to cover the previous one. Nonetheless, throughout many experiences, people who choose not to confront their fault and tell the truth all ended up with a broken relationship. For instance, back in the days when I was in junior high school, one of my friends was in lack of money so he decided to steal my money. But luckily, I saw the whole process and asked him if he took my properties. Conversely, he presented himself innocent and accused others that might have done it. And as you might expect, our friendship stopped on that day, if he would tell the truth, maybe the result will be completely different today.

Admittedly, everything has two sides and some may claim that some lies toward specific conditions are necessary. For example, sometimes a friend would be nice to ask us out, but we simply just want to relax and chill at home. We are afraid to break their feeling so we come up with some explanation and make some illusion. However, as I have mentioned above already, if one day our friend realize the truth behind these scenes, they will definitely be depressed. It is always wiser to tell the truth, if you do not want to attend a particular event, just say it straight forward. As a result, your friends will know your preferences and only invite you to activities you might have more interest in.

All in all, taking into accounts of these factors, to maintain an enduring friendship, it is our decision to stay honest under every circumstance. That is not to say that other opinions are totally out of merits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.