Do you agree or disagree? In the modern era, parents learn from children more than children learn from parents?

times new Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">Throughout history, learning has always been of huge importance. In the modern age, this issue has become increasingly important because of the undeniable significance of learning for personal achievement and social mobility. In the pre-modern times, it had been often the case that children learned life and trade skills from adults, in particular their parents. Nonetheless, the rapid transformations of all aspects of life in the modern world leave us wondering if children actually learn more from their parents or vice versa. I argue that contrary to the past, in our time parents indeed learn more from their children than children learn from adults. In what follows, I will elaborate on my position based on two important reasons.

times new Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">The first reason is that times new Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">contrary to the children raised in a world characterized by slow changes to social fabric, modern-day children live a world where organizational and technological innovations constantly become available around the world. As a result, today’s children have no choice but learning what is new in order to keep pace with the requirements of education and employment. Let me offer an example based on my own experience. When I was a child, I often played outsidetimes new Roman","serif"; mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-language:FA">, usually playing football with my friends or bicycling, while modern-day children are introduced to mobile phones and tablets very early in their lives. they quickly learn working with digital devices and hardly leave home. Nowadays, one frequently sees that grandparents ask their grandchildren to help them with their mobile phones or tablets.

times new Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-bidi-language:FA">The second reason I would like to bring to support my position is that compared to their parents, children have more energy, time, and curiosity for learning new things. it is obvious that parents should spend much of their time carrying out their responsibilities—at work or at home. Therefore, they tend to have less energy and free time to learn new things. parents’ priorities often rest with their daily chores and tasks, rather than learning the new technologies, while their children infatuated with learning and mesmerized by the new technologies can catch up with new innovations rather quickly. A recent study of the way adults and children react to new technologies suggests that introducing new technologies makes children excited, while they often cause parents stress. this provides a solid evidence supporting the claim that today’s children are better positioned to learn than their parents, and thereby it is the case that parents learn from children more often than children learn from parents.

times new Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-bidi-language:FA">In sum, two paramount factors—i.e. our ever-changing world and strong motivation of children to learn—lead us to conclude that in modern society children have surpassed their parents in learning. children welcome new technological innovations and adapt themselves to them easier in comparison to their parents. it is hardly surprising that future generations will surpass today’s children in learning if the world keep changing at an ever-increasing rate.