Do you agree or disagree with the statement that the High School should allow the students to choose which course they want to study.

Most people in the world believe that school days are the golden days of our lives. Personally, I believe that students shouldn't be left on their own to decide what to study or not. I feel this way for two reasons, which I am going to explore in the following essay.

To begin with students are not matured and experienced enough to decide what's good for them. Most children take impulsive decisions and regret later about making such choices. My personal experience is the compelling illustration of this. When I was in tenth grade I decided to take arts stream because most of my friends were going for same. I thought it's an interesting course because most of my friends are doing it. But that's the dumbest decision i ever made. I nearly failed. Later when I was in twelfth grade one of the teacher made me to reassess my aims, motifs and interests. Finally i realized i was more interested in science. However, i realized late and wasted two precious years of my life.

Furthermore children these days are driven (influenced) more by the technological way of life. Meaning they believe whatever is shown in the social media is true and act accordingly without finding out whether its true or not. So in such cases they need constant guidance from their teachers to guide them in right path. For instance few months ago I read a news about student trying to harm himself, because he couldn't handle the pressure of public criticisms for his vulgar video, which he posted in social media. This happened because he got influenced by one of the videos from Youtube. He decided that's what he wanted to do and got the repurcursion in a bitter taste.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be well guided by their teachers to make them realize what's good for them. This is because students are inexperienced and get influenced very fast.