Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

It is as important for older people to study or learn new things as it is for younger people.

The society has witnessed the unprecedented development of technology in the 21st century. It is hard to imagine how the contemporary youth will act without the modern gadgets. Meanwhile, the older are always labeled as poor learner and also do not necessitate the skills of using modern technology. However, I disagree with this statement. It is also of great importance for older people to learn new stuffs as younger ones because it can improve their living standard and bridge the gap between different generations.

Admittedly, some people may hold the concern that older people may undergo hard journey to obtain the new skills which would used up their energy. However, the benefits originated from the learning process outweigh the suffer it takes.

First, what new technology could do is far beyond their imagination and enhance older people living standard to a new level. Consider the smart phone. With such a small devices in hand, the whole world is just a click away. In the old days, the seniors had to walk to the bus stop tremblingly with a stick, and wait a long time for a late bus. Today, they can easily check where the bus is on the phone. And some applications like Uber enable them to call a taxi home with a click. What’s more, unlike the old days when they had to wait in front of the television for the soap opera they like, they can get access to various types of TV shows via the Internet and can download them to watch repeatedly. Additionally, with a sweeping robot at home, the seniors are free from the tedious housework and can enjoy themselves to an easy life. To sum up, learning new things can help elder people improve life style.

Also, the older people’s learning can make the different generations have more in common, and so the generation gap might be bridged. In-depth communication and other good interaction are the prerequisites of the formation of better relationship. Some social members might blame older people for their outdated minds. If the older people are able to learn new things, they will have more topics with the younger people. To illustrate, my grandfather is 70 years old but he always holds an open perspective to all the new stuffs. Not only does he care about our growth, but he will also discuss the up-to-date games and TV shows with us. Sometimes we will teach him how to operate a new game and soon after he can teach us how to tackle some tricky points in the games. We all love him and consider him as the coolest senior. It is because the learning spirit he possess that the generation gap between us is bridged.

In sum, learning new things plays a crucial part in older people’s lives on the ground that it can improve their living standard and make them better relate to the younger generations.