Do you agree that people should always participate in the activities that they are good at or talented in?

Self-actualization is one of the controversial issues nowadays, since competition plays a crucial role in the modern era. People strive to flourish their talents in the competitive world and try to be perfect in aspects of life, such as education and career. Two main ideas related to this topic are versus each other. Some people believe that versatility is the essential factor for being a winner. People have to adapt to various fields that include not only the areas which are related to them, but also irrelevant fields. On the contrary, some others believe that people must discover their talent and move forward in one area, which is the most convenient for them. I support the idea that flourishing talent is the most crucial solution and vindicate my viewpoint for two reasons.

The first crucial reason is that people inherit most of the abilities and intelligence from their biological parents, and the genetics effect is inevitable in determining one’s aptitudes. In a research conducted by Tehran University, nearly 80 percent of the students studying in engineering fields had at least one member in their family who majored in engineering or mathematical sciences. The environmental factors, however, can either exacerbate or consolidate the genetics effect and cannot take its place unless with an indefatigable endeavor that ordinary people rarely have in the society. So flourishing talents and being distinguished as a top candidate in job interviews requires natural abilities, and effort is a secondary factor in such an issue since talent overtakes efforts.

The other noteworthy reason that should not be underestimated is that, usually, endeavoring fields that are not inclined to one’s talents causes depression and anxiety. University students who suffer depression and disorders are those who have not chosen their major according to their abilities. Usually, they can not meet the expectations that society or parents require, since they have not selected a suitable direction in life. Students in high school should be careful about their future and not get deceived by the majors that are more popular in the community. Since they have to try hard, and an ideal job is not guaranteed for them. So because of their self-confidence, they should choose the best major according to their talents.

To recapitulate, talent plays an essential role in life and career since genetics is dominant in comparison to environmental factors and the essentiality of self-confidence and equilibrium in life. Following abilities is highly recommended for an experience with glorious achievements, and these achievements can make one ambitious for other goals.