Do you prefer watching TV programmes for knowledge or just for entertainment?

Television invention can be considered as one the most influential invention of human and the fast that it is an inextricable part of our daily life is undeniable. Some people believe that they can count on this device for learning different things, while others consider it just as a joyful box. I myself support the second notion for two main reason and the ensuing paragraphs will elaborate the rationales behind my statement.

Let’s start with the consideration of the fact that is about the variety of television programs. I think as they are wide ranging, their contents are superficial and cannot be considered as a program for deep and comprehensive learning. They also use different advertisements during their programs that are just means for revenue augmentation. So I rely on TV programs as source of pleasure instead of a learning one. For instance, there is a channel that completely is devoted to sports programs, but as there are so many different sports, they cannot give complete information about each of them. So I think that we should watch it just for enjoyment and fun.

Another significant reason that deserves attention is about the demand of viewers, there are lots of people who watch TV just for enjoyment and spend their time watching programs for entertainment. The last year survey proved this issue as the rate of people who use TV for joy was not comparable to the rate of those who watch its programs for leaning. So, if owners of a channel do not pay attention to the public need, they will lose their viewers immediately. So they prefer to provide more enjoyable programs instead of programs that relate to viewers’ knowledge. So it is clear that if we use this device for learning, we will not gain what we search for.

With all the above factors taken into consideration, TVs are an excellent device for entertainment as they have variety of programs that can cover all our needs. Although in some cases they try to show us that they are concern about our knowledge, their main purpose is to sell their enjoyable programs. So what do you think? Can they be considered as an important tool for improving people knowledge?