During the times of economic crisis, which of the following should the government spend less money on? a. Education b. Health Care c. Support for the unemployed

Some people think that the government sould spend less money on education during the time of economic crisis, other people think the target should be change from education to health care. However, I think that the money of support for the unemployed sould be decreased. Therefore, I support my statement for following reasons.

First of all, during the economic depression, the government cares about budget control, and reducing money on the unemployed can help it save more money. For example, when the American government met the Depression, it can decreasing free meals for the unemployed. Furthermore, it can also reduce the job training for unemployed people. As a result, the government can save more than 10000 USD for a month. Yet, if the American government reduce the budget for education, it could only save less than 5000 USD by decreasing the financial support on poor students. Apparently, reducing budget on education can not be helpful for the government to save more money.

Secondly, in the period of economic crisis, the government places emphasis on citizens’ well-being, but spending less money on health care would harm its citizens. For instance, when the Taiwanese government encountered some economic problems, it decided to decrease the time of hospital opening for more than 2 days a week. In addition, it also decrease some funding on medical supports, such as researching new medicine or renewing the medical equipments. Consequently, a lot of people suffered from disease, even die because of lack of care. Nevertheless, if the government decided to reduce budget from the unemployed, citizens would not be painful for virus and bacteria. Obviously, decreasing money on support for unemployed people is good to citizens’ well-being.

Last but not least, in the time of economic depression, the government focuses on its reputation, but spending less money on education would make the government notorious. For example, when the Indian government faced the economic depression, it increased the elementary schools’ tuition from 1000 to 2000 USD per semester. Additionally, the government also stopped to renew the learning equipments, such as computers and labs. Accordingly, a lot of people thought that the rule of Indian government was awful and asked it to quit. Nonetheless, if the government spent less money on the unemployed rather than education, citizens might think that their children’s right for learing was emphasized. Hence, all the world might regard India as a country which cares about education and respect the government.

In conclusion, I support that the government sould decrease the budget on support for the unemployed. After all, it cares about budget control, citizens’ well-being, and reputation.