Educational institutes should not discourage students on field areas they may be unlikely to succeed

Educational institutions or schools are places where as a young adult we spend about two-thirds of our time. Teachers or Deans who are the people in authority in these institutions tend to have larger influence on us at times even more than our parents. Most people look up to many professors as their mentor or role model. Educational institutions have an aim to groom and support its students in areas in which they have shown some sort of skills or interest so these students can be the best or the ‘crème de la crème’ as the French say, but not to decide for the students, areas where they the teachers think the students are likely to succeed.

In this modern world where passion plays a key factor in success, one must have the interest or passion in an activity or a field of study in order to be successful in it. Most well paid careers of today did not have that status a decade ago for example, actors, musicians and sports athletes of today are more successful than they would have been a decade ago. If Beyonce’s teachers dissuaded her from pursing music I don’t think we would have known of her existence of would have enjoyed her good music.

Let us take the scenario of Lionel Messi, the well renowned Barcelona football star or Ronaldo who plays for Real Madrid. They started football at a very early age when football as a career did not look as lucrative as it is today. Supposing they were discouraged they would probably had not been good at any other thing in life and might have ended up being a burden on the society , homeless or much worse be involved in crime.

Yes, teachers or professors in the various educational institutions have an obligation to dissuade students from certain negative activities such as smoking, alcohol or drug abuse or other negative behaviors that definitely in the long or short term prevents the student from utilizing his or her talent or skills to be the best they could ever be.

Also the fact that a student might not be performing well in a field of study does not mean he or she is never going to succeed at it one day. Everyone has his or her pace of absolving knowledge or being perfect at something. Some have the characteristics of gas stoves which tend to heat as soon as they are lit on. This refers to students who grasp things quick and understand basic and advanced concepts easier. The others are of the electric stove characteristic, taking time to heat up but once they do, they last longer. This is to say that the educational institution is in no position to judge on where students should focus as a field of study because the world is changing and areas of study which do not look so important today, might be at the top of careers in years to come. Secondly students have unequal ways of study or understanding. Educational Institutions should focus on counselling and encouragement so the student in his right state of mind chooses a career path.