Choosing an apporapriate career of job is one of the most problematic decisions that many people face when they are young. They know it's a very important decision and it affects their future strongly. Some people believe that it was easier in the past to identify an apporapriate carrier. Others disagree. In my view, it was easier in the past to choose the best job for two reasons.

First, today everything chages very rapidly as a result of fast technological advances. So you can't be sure that a job that is a good one, will remain a good job in the future. For example, when I was going to select my major for the university, I had plenty of choices because of my good grades. I liked computers and I was really interested in founding how they work and how different computer programs are written. But when I checked job market for computer engineering or information technology majors threre was a little job offers. So I decided not to attend these majors because of the fear that I may become an unemployed graduate in the future. I picked mechanical engineering as my major and it took seven years for me to grafuate with a M.Sc. degree. But when I entered the job market, the situation was very differet with seven years before. Surprisingly with the advances in computer programing usages, there were plenty of job offers for computer programming. The salaries for this jobs were far much higher than mechanical engineering jobs. As you cam see, it is much harder to choose the right career nowadays.

Second, there were less jobs available in the past, so people had less options to inquire and it was easier for every one to select the apporapriate job for him or herself. For example, when my father was going to choose his major there was about 20 different ones to pick from. But when I was going to attend university threre was abou 100 different majors. The more the options, the more time you need to check each and thus it will be harder to choose the best that fits your abilities and talents and leads to a successful future. That's why I believe it's become harder today to choose a career.

In sum, I think idntifying the apporapriate career is harder today compared with the past because nowadays everything changes much rapidly and there are much more careers to choose from. It is very important that people spend as much time as needed to be sure that their career is apporapriate for them and asures a successful future.