Ethanol fuel, made from plants such as corn and sugar cane, has been advocated by some people as an alternative to gasoline in the United States. However, many critics argue that ethanol is not a good replacement for gasoline for several reasons.

First, the increased use of ethanol fuel would not help to solve one of the biggest environmental problems caused by gasoline use: global warming. Like gasoline, ethanol releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere when it is burned for fuel, and carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas: it helps trap heat in the atmosphere. Thus, ethanol offers no environmental advantage over gasoline.

Second, the production of significant amounts of ethanol would dramatically reduce the amount of plants available for uses other than fuel. For example, much of the corn now grown in the United States is used to feed farm animals such as cows and chickens. It is estimated that if ethanol were used to satisfy just 10 percent of the fuel needs in the United States, more than 60 percent of the corn currently grown in the United States would have to be used to produce ethanol. If most of the corn were used to produce ethanol, a substantial source of food for animals would disappear.

Third, ethanol fuel will never be able to compete with gasoline on price. Although the prices of ethanol and gasoline for the consumer are currently about the same, this is only because of the help in the form of tax subsidies given to ethanol producers by the United States government. These tax subsidies have cost the United States government over $11 billion in the past 30 years. If the United States government were to stop helping the producers in this way, the price of ethanol would increase greatly.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not replacing gasoline for ethanol is really beneficial. The article strongly postulates that using ethanol instead of gasoline is unfavorable for three compelling reasons. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that ethanol is a very good alternative for gasoline. Also, none of the three presented reasons are convincing.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, global warming problem wouldn't be solved by using more ethanol owing to the fact that using ethanol as fuel can release carbon dioxide like gasoline. Therefore, using more ethanol wouldn't help to solve one of the biggest environmental issues. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by declaring that using ethanol will not add problems to global warming. the released carbon dioxide from using ethanol as fuel can be compensated by cultivating more plants and trees that produce ethanol. In other words, farming corns can reduce carbon dioxide because plants absorb this harmful gas.

On top of this, the professor in lecture further points out that on a large scale ethanol can be produced from plants using cellious. meaning that producing ethanol can meet the individual's demands by producing ethanol from trees that aren't eaten by animals. As a result, the animals wouldn't suffer from food shortage. These claims refute the writer implication of how producing ethanol from plants would harm animals. Also, reduce the number of available trees.

The article lastly asserts that using gasoline would cast people less because governments are already paying subsidies tax to people who produce ethanol. which means the ethanol price will increase dramatically if it's used as fuel. The speaker in lecture counters these points by insisting that if there is more production of the ethanol the ethanol price would decrease.