Every generation of people is different in important ways. How is your generation different from your parent's generation? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

There are many differences between my parents' generation and my generation. In my opinion, modern technology had made a big difference between two generations. When my parents were children, technology was not developed as much as we have now. Living rural in Thailand they did not have computers, telephones, and cars. Modern technology makes a difference between the generations of our family.

To begin with, my parents live in Thailand, a third world country. Even though they are educated people, they just learned how to use computer recently. When they were growing up nobody had a computer, so they did everything manually. To do things manually was not convenient and it took a lot of time to get things done. When my parents first learn how to use the computer, they were amazed by how it made their life so much easier and more convenient. Modern technology like computer has made my generation different from my parents' generation.

In addition, when my parents were growing up they had no telephone, so writing letters was the only way to communicate to a person who lived far away. My father went to study in university far from home. When he would like to communicate with my grandparents he had to write a letter and it took a week to arrive at my grandparents' house. I think that it is so much better now that we have telephones or even smartphone so we can just dial a phone number and talk to a person instantly.

Furthermore, when my parents were children there were no cars and buses. People got where they were going by walking, riding horses or elephants, and using buffalo caravan carts. Traveling from place to place at that time was very difficult. For example, my mother spent three days traveling from her hometown to another city to study, but now it takes only three hours by car. Cars are one of the modern technologies that make a big difference between my parents' generation and my generation.

In conclusion, I believe that modern technology such as computer, telephone, and cars has made my generation very different from my parents' generation.