The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

There is no shortage of opinions about extended and nuclear families. Nowadays, extended family is more valued in my country and other Asian countries. In my opinion, I disagree that the joint family is less important today than in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, in extended family, we have bonding relationships with many members. Children learn respect for all elders, as seen in the extended family. Children grow up in relationships such as cousin-cousin, brother-brother, uncle-nephew, grandparent-grandchildren, etc. Extended families have multiple benefits, one of which is sharing financial household expenses. For example, I grew up in an extended family. When I was a child, my uncle's business was in trouble. My father helped my uncle start a business. Nowadays, my uncle always tells me that my father really did help in a hard time. As clearly seen, in a hard time, only family can help, extended family can also help bonding relationships grow.

In addition, children grow up better in extended families. These days, parents have jobs and a hectic life. Grandparents support in raising their children. For instance, I grew up with my grandmother and grandfather. They told me narrative moral stories during my sleeping time, when my parents had a job and came home late at night. Children need warm love from their parents, when they are busy with their jobs. Grandparents with children have a warm bond. As a result, the extended family's ease of raising children.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the extended family is more important than it was in the past. Family members help in dilemmas, and children grow up well with grandparents.