friend has decided to switch careers but isn’t sure which to choose. What advice would you give them? Provide reasons and examples to support your response.

I can think of many questions and advises to give to someone who is considering a job shift, however, I find these three questions and guidelines the most essential criteria for choosing a job, and I will discuss them in order of their importance from the highest to the lowest.

Firstly, and the most critical question will discuss the motivation and the reason he is changing careers. As we know, humans are mostly driven by their instincts, even if they might look rational on the surface. Therefore, one needs to make sure that his current decision will somehow satiate his needs. However, to do so, he must first identify what that need is and where it is stemming from so that he can explore other available solutions as well. Who knows, he might conclude that he does not need to change career in the first place!

The second question that I would ask him will investigate the monetary side of the decision, like how much is he going to make, how does the market look like and how long it takes for him to earn as much as he does in his current position. These questions will further clarify the fiscal matters of the subject since we are all dependent on the money, be it in a small or large amount. Let me expand on this point, imagine my friend is already over 30 years old, and he wants to switch careers. He needs to make sure that his salary at his recent job matches his current expenses otherwise, he will be in debt and it will be hard for him to repay them. For that reason, it is also essential to consider this side of the decision as well as other parts.

And finally, I would ask him to explain how his future job is related to what he knows or his personal experiences. Let me draw on my example, when I was considering to change majors from Civil Engineering to Computer Science, everyone was shocked by the decision I was about to make since these two fields are apart and there is no common ground between them. However, I began to convince my professors that the reason I am changing majors is that I want to also become adept in Computer Science and to take advantage of it in building intelligent structures. And as for my experience, I mentioned my previous personal projects regarding the field of Computer Science, and how my previous self-studies had prepared me for taking a course at a higher level. As you can see, I needed to convince those who were in charge so that I could proceed with what I wanted to accomplish. For that reason, he needs to relate what he knows with what he is about to do.

To sum up, changing career is a critical decision to make but before that, we need to know all about the reasons we are doing that and the subsequent issues that we will need to deal with afterward.