A friend who is intelligent is much better than a friend with a good sense of humor.

Nowadays, what kind of friends people should make has become the top concern in society. In some people's opinion, people should make friends with intelligent people because they can offer more help. Contrary to their opinion is my perspective that a friend with a good sense of humor is much better than a friend who is intelligent. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that a friend with a good sense of humor serves as an effective stress-reducer. To be more specific, modern people, especially the young, are facing fierce competition. They have to work extremely hard to live a decent life, which places them under great pressure. Under such circumstances, if people can make friends with people with a good sense of humor, their daily worries and concerns will be prevented thus reducing the level of stress. Take me for example, I felt very anxious when I was preparing for the college entrance exam last year because one of my friends, Alice, was extremely intelligent and post much peer pressure on me. After my friend Tom, who is a humorous person, got to know my concerns, he visited me and told me some jokes about recent news, which made me laugh out. Thanks to Tom’s humor, I felt more relaxed and did a good job during the exam due to less pressure. Therefore, I hold the belief that a friend with a good sense of humor is much better than an intelligent person.

What is equally important is that it will be easier for people to get along with a person with a sense of humor. In detail, a humorous person is good at chatting and creating interesting topics, which cement people's friendship. My friend Jimmy is a good case in point. I always spend my leisure time with Jimmy because not only does he know numerous funny stories, but he also has excellent chatting skills to continue our chatting. Every time we reach the end of a specific top, he is able to generate another topic, so we usually sit in the cafeteria for nearly 5 hours, which strengthens our relationship. I also had another friend named Tim, who only talked about some academic topics that I can not understand, hence our chatting never lasts longer than 15 minutes. Since I found my time with him boring, I rarely contacted him again. Accordingly, I reckon that a friend with a good sense of humor is much better than an intelligent person.

Admittedly, an intelligent friend also has valuable merits, which deserve some words here. For example, they can quickly come up with a solution for people's problems and helped them a lot. However, a humorous person can also help people by providing emotional support or changing their negative attitude towards their difficulties, so next time they meet with difficulties, they are able to face them by themselves, instead of turning to their intelligent friends. Therefore, I still think making friends with a humorous person is better.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a friend with a good sense of humor is much better than an intelligent person, not only because a friend with a good sense of humor serves as an effective stress-reducer, but also because it will be easier for people to get along with a person with a sense of humor.