In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?

Technological improvements

Changes to education systems

Improvements to our diets

The live of a human nowadays is longer than it was in the past. There are people how are argueing that these change happens due to improovments in our diet or a better education system. However, I thing this evolution ist taking place, because of technological improvements.

Firstly, the invention of tools made most jobs safer. For example, today we have the posibility to wear saftey gloves and googles when we need to work with dangerous chemicals in a Lab. As a result there occour almost no lifethreatening situations in labatorys any more.

Another way technological improvments are leading to a longer life are new inventions in medicin. New medications can heal many deadly illneses and surgery can save many lives too. For example in 1100 there was no possability to cure an infection of your lungs, but today we know how to heal them and by that can elongate the lives of many people.

In my opinion, the argument that we live longer because we changed our diet is not convincing. The biggest change that occured is that we use suger in every meal and eat more fast food. These changes made our diet unhealthier, so we probably should die earlier.

I agree, that our education system has improved and that this has an impact on the length of our lives. However, I think most of the improvements in todays education are a result of technological improvement. For example the internet and computers offer us the possibility to quickly gain and share any knowledge. Also the quick communication gives us the opportunity to inform and rescue many people from areas of Vulcano eruptions, earthquakes or tsunamies.

To summarize, I belive that technological improvment is the main reason why we live longer, because of inventions in medicine, safety tools and communication.