Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

With the increasing prosperity of the economy and the continuous harmony of the society, art and athletics have become one of the indispensable parts in our daily life. However, here comes a question: should governments spend more money in art than athletics? Two antithetical viewpoints can be identified, one contending that it is important to invest money for art so as to help art develop and preserve art works, while the other stressing that sports should be given higher priority. Personally speaking, I am for the latter, in that sports act as a booster for public health and facilitate to build a better national image.

To begin with, athletics deserve sponsorship owing to its contribution to the increase of public health. With the incidence of the sudden death and cancer hovering at high levels, many have become aware of the significance of maintaining health, and sports is just suitable to improve physical fitness. Exercising everday can help improve Cardiopulmonary capacity, since sports usually need a large participation of one's lung and heart. In this sense, the total health of a person is improved, thereby boosting the public health accordingly. For example, the government of Shanghai provides many local communities with funds, of which the purpose is to build more exercising facilities in the communities, so that the people there can directly go for sports after work or school. Then a sophisticated survey is carried out by Shanghai government, whose results provide evidence for the improvement of public health compared with past data.

Furethermore, internationally speaking, sports can act as a determinant fatcor of national image. The competition nowadays is a matter of capital and fund. With more government investment, the coaching team can be improved, so that some of the top-level coaches and physical therapists can be on the team to render their experience and help the player stay physcially ready for the game. Also, the training condition can be ameliorated. The aiding fund from the government can be utilized to renovate the courts and add more gymnastical facilities. Hence, we can see that the team will be capable of cultivating more potential medal winners with more abundant financial support. Then, for instance on Olympic games, they can reach higer level of achievements, which can bring tremendous glory to the country and its people. Therefore, the national image of the country will be remarkably lifted.

Although some advocates of art may argue that the national image can also be improved by art, it is true that art is not fitted for everybody due to its obscurity and indirectness. Work and family are already two huge burdens for most adults to shoulder in their life, which gives them more excuses to relax during their spare time rather than enjoying some artwork they can not understand. Hence, sports can benifit more people and truly impact most people's life.

In a nutshell, the merits of sponsoring athletic prevail over those of art, due to the contributing role of sports in public health, the sports' positive effect on national image and the broader audiences of sports. As a conclusion, it is the best for the country to invest more money in sports rather than art.